Thoughts on Relationships and Dating.

Had a late night thought and figured I’d share it.

I’m not really like ordinary people; yes I realise most people say that needing to feel unique and individual and all; when in reality we’re all just a flock of sheep; bit all the same flock mind you but the metaphor is still true. But in this case I was really a part of the minority. See way back when I was in high school I had something about me that was different from everyone else; I didn’t spend half my time worrying about the concept of dating, having a boyfriend/girlfriend etc. I was more than content to sit back and enjoy my HS experience without all that relationship drama. Even up until the point where I got my first boyfriend, which I now point out wasn’t really idea.

I was peer pressured into it so to speak; by two of my friends. Why they did that I can only theorise; and the only explanation that I can come up with is that, my friends who were a group of people constantly changing relationship combinations were people who subconsciously sought these relationships as a way to feel good about themselves, to have self-esteem and confidence boosts; and me as someone who was comfortable in their own skin without any help was a huge contrast to this making them feel (again I stress the word subconsciously) self-conscious about their way of life, so they tried to bring me into the fold to survive essentially. See, there was this guy who was really sweet and incredibly shy and because of this two of my friends thought we were perfect for each other, when in reality I don’t think either of us liked each other in that way; but with some huge amount of meddling on my friends part he asked me out and incredibly uncomfortable but absolutely terrified of hitting the poor kid (who seemed as fragile as spun glass to me) I said yes. Oh boy.

Anyway it was incredibly awkward, especially when he tried to kiss me; it was in the quadrangle and it was absolutely busy with other people when he started to lean in; feeling like people were staring and gawking at me I freaked out and ducked my head (later I found out that a group of my friends were in fact staring raptly). To this day I’m still made fun of for it. But do I regret it? No. I wasn’t ready, nor was I comfortable so it was the right decision. Anyway we later mutually broke up, and instead of feeling sad about loosing my first BF I felt hugely relieved (so much so that I later licked a guys face; another story for another time). From then on I left dating to the people who liked having a relationship.

Until yet again peer pressure struck, and I ended up being convinced somehow that a man I had been friends with for 8 years and saw as an annoying brother at times; was someone I had a crush on and had to ask out, the convincing was done by the same people might I add, and like the first time this one went just as well. I had five seconds of “he actually said yes?!?” Which then came crashing down to “I don’t actually like this guy, %^*+” naturally we broke up and the bloke took it fairly well. Nice man.

But I find myself thinking about relationship number 2 now and… instead of thinking about those dates; sighing dramatically and thinking “that’d be amazing doing all that with someone I love” I just shrug, cringe a little and move on with my thoughts. Even now I think about my future if I didn’t force myself to waste my time with some guy in order to fulfil society’s expectations until “Mr. Right” comes around; I see being in a apartment by myself, surrounded by all my favourite colours, kinds of furniture, my books, having the music up on any song I like while I walk around with no Bra, a loose top and my underwear… I’m not worried, I actually look forward to it. Am I just one of those women who are okay being by themselves, because if so.. okay! To hell with societies expectations!!

People, from one lone wolf to another; if you don’t want a boyfriend/girlfriend etc. that’s fine! Live by yourselves, love yourself without the validation with others, howl at the moon!

Be whoever you want to be! And if that involves being with someone else, then okay! But no matter who you are don’t force your way of life on others, as someone who was on that end of the shit stick; it’s really not that fun.

As for me, if I ever god forbid get lonely and I want someone to love and spoil and who I want to love me unconditionally and go for long walks on the beach; I’ll get a dog.

Til next time,

L.K

Leave a Reply

